New (to me) O'Day Widgeon.

Apr 23, 2014
Oday Widgeon Anywhere there's water.
What do you think? I'm new to sailing and just getting started and I figured a small sail boat would fit me just fine to learn. Now I know very little about what to look for when buying one. Any tips, should I pass on this one or go grab it today? I know the photos won't tell much but they may help a bit. Any help is much appreciated!

Attachments

Apr 11, 2014
Oday Widgeon Worcester, Mass
Check the locker where the centerboard goes up into. Look for cracks from the bottom and from the inside on the deck. Check the deck where the mast sits for cracks or damage. These are where big forces work on the boat. Also check the bow eye where the trailer cable hooks onto, again for damage or cracks.I bought one last year just in time for the coldest, snowiest winter on record. I'll get it in the water in the next few weeks. I keep getting great reactions to how nice a sail they are. They're stable, easy to sail, perfect for beginners. If it's in good shape, there are not too many boats better suited for you. I paid $550 without a trailer. Good luck.

Last edited:
Apr 23, 2014
I picked it up yesterday, she could use a bit of work but the only thing that I should really get are new lines and paint other than that she's good. I bought the boat and trailer for $400.

Apr 11, 2014
Well there you go, congrats.
I replaced all the lines on mine.
The line specs are:
Main halyard 1/4"
Jib sheets 1/4"
Main sheet: 5/16"
All lines for centerboard 5/16"
Mainsheet rear track: 5/16"
All outhaul, downhaul, cunningham, and boom vang 1/4"
I'm one of those people that go one step further and color coded my lines.
Port side jib sheet green, starboard side red. All out haul, downhaul, boom vang lines blue. What the heck, the colors don't cost anymore.
I also added a boom vang.

Apr 23, 2014