New to group Irwin 37 MKV Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 16, 2009
Irwin 37 CC Baltimore
Let me introduce myself first, My name is John and my wife is Bobbie. We have just purchased a 1981 Irwin 37 MKV with swing keel . This is a project boat which needs a total refit, a completely new enterer, all new bulk heads, engine and lots …. more . I am planning on two years to get her in the water and another 2 to complete, and yes I know complete is a relative term. I also know that it takes 3 times as long as planned so don’t hold me to the schedule.

A little back ground about me so you know my capabilities. I have refurbished a couple of homes as well as building a large home in the past, I have also built an experimental aircraft which I have been flying for the 4 years. I am a electronic designer/engineer which I hope will help when I get to the point of rewiring the boat.

Anyways I will be looking for a lot of advice so please be patient with me over the long haul.

I have already had my share of problems, the boat was trucked from Long Island which took a while. When delivered we discovered the truck could no make the turn into the marina , and the lift could not get out to the truck due to over head wires. We were able to unload the boat at another marina and it will be towed over to its new home this week.

My first question, has anyone replaced the steel compression post support located under the sole. Mine is rusted badly to the point I could flake off pieces of the corroded steel (1/16 thick chunks). The remaining steel is still ¼ + thick on the side I can see but if I am going to do this I want to do it right. I will be removing all of the bulk heads so this would be the time to tackle this. Any help would be appreciated.