New Spin Halyard

JP

Sep 25, 2008
Catalina 30 Homewood,Ca
I would like to install a spin Halyard on my 1987 Catalina 30.
It is a masthead rig with a harken furler. There is a spinnaker crane at the top of the mast the extends 4 or so inches out. I would like to add a block to the crane and run an external halyard. I would like to avoid the cost of taking the mast down if possible.
I have an Asym spin North sail( G1 AP Gennaker) in a launch bag with a snuffer. I also received a ATM tacker.
I Have no experience using a Asym spin

My first question: Will the external halyard invite problems? Thanks for the advice I feel that I am good to go on the set up of the halyard.

If I could ask another question, sorry if its a bit broad, but I guess we all have some time on our hands or most of us do.
What are the steps/best practices for the first time raising of an Asym spin?
I have searched the old posts and been thru the cruisers forum as well but I am still looking for more information. Any links to specific articles would be great. I would like to print up a check list for raising and flying if possible.
I will be using the gear above. I plan on attaching the tack line to the ATM and then down to a block on the anchor roller led back to an organizer on the cabintop. I think I will keep the halyard at the mast since someone has to be near there to deal with the sock, but I do have the option to lead it back as well.
I have an ST 4000 auto pilot.
The crew will be the Admiral and myself or just me solo most of the time. I only plan on using the sail during light 5-10 conditions. I bought this new three years ago and it looks light this is the year to hoist it up and see what excitement ensues.

Last edited:
Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
My first question: Will the external halyard invite problems?