New San Diego Sailor needs mentor!

May 6, 2020
Catalina 30 San Diego
Hi all!

My wife and I bought a Catalina 30. We've spent the last 2 months cleaning it up, completely refitted the plumbing, redid a bunch of the electrical wiring, fixed the ignition, replacing the bilge pump, replacing the starter motor, and fixing other parts of the diesel. We got the genoa repaired and I even climbed to the top of the mast to untwist a halyard to raise the foresail. Anyways, our boat is finally ready to sail, but we only know to sail via youtube videos and books. We both completed the California Boater's Course and have our cards and initially signed up for ASA 101 back in March, but they all got cancelled due to COVID, and now our work schedule is brutal and won't work with any of the classes (I'm a new intern emergency medicine doctor and my wife is a nurse). I was wondering if someone would be willing to come out on the bay with us for a day and teach us to properly sail on our Cat30. We're active duty Navy and our boat is moored at at the Point Loma annex, near Liberty Station, just a stones throw across from Harbor Island's pumpout station. Thanks!

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Congrats on your boat selection and refit. I regret I’m 1200 nm North of you or I‘d love to spend time sailing the SD Bay again.

Being Navy, have you checked in with Special Services, located on the strand down near Imperial Beach. In the 60’s SpecServ operated a sailing marina and Sail boats on the Naval Amphibious Base Coronado. They moved the operation down the strand and greatly expanded it in the late 70’s. I think it is known as Fiddlers Cove. They had classes to help Navy families with learning to sail. Might be an option.

Oct 24, 2010
Hunter 30 Everett, WA
Again I'm way too far north, but can you operate the boat on motor alone? That's how I learned to sail.