New sailor. Which boat??

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mel

Hi. Please help me out. My daughter and I have some (a little) sailing experience and we have taken a one week ASA Keelboat course in Annapolis last year. My daughter is now looking at daysailers. Something simple and a good "starter boat". We have seen the Catalina Capri 22 (new model) and it looks really nice. My question(s) - is this a good starter boat? What kind of keel should we get (we don't really know the differences). Should we look at old model used boats, or is the new model really much different / better? Also - how much should we expect to spend to maintain the boat? How much do replacement sails cost and how often do you need to get them? Other than bottom paint, insurance and dockage fees (we plan to keep the boat in the water - we don't want to trailer the boat), what other major expenses are there?? I assume that maintaining the outboard will not be a major $$$ item. Thanks for any comments. Good sailing!!!

M

Merrythought

My recommendation

is to get a used boat that is capable of overnighting or at least has room for a portable toilet and the ability to have shade in the cockpit. You will be surprised how quickly you'll outgrow a small boat as your sailing skills increase.

F

Funsailing1

New sailor, which boat?