New owner of an S2 9.2C

May 26, 2018
S2 9.2C Long Island, NY
Hello All.

I'm a new owner of a 1984 S2 9.2C, located in Long Island, New York. Unfortunately I have very little experience with marine engines (or any engines for that matter - my S2 is equipped with an 18hp yanmar) and am having some difficulty figuring out what I'm doing. When I turned the key to start the engine a red warning light came on that said something to the effect "water press." I'm not sure what that means, if there is a water pump not working, or if I the seacock is still closed (I opened what I believe to be the seacock, but I'm really not sure since nothing is labeled)? If anyone knows what that warning means, or could give me a step by step to starting the boat up after it has been winterized in the water, then I'd greatly appreciate it. I'm completely new to all of this, so any advice helps a lot.

Thank you!

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
First, Welcome to the forum! ..
make sure the seacock to the water pump is open.. The water pump is immediately left of the lower main pulley when you are looking at the engine.. Attached photo has "water pump" in red letters by the pump. The hose leading off the pump to the left probably goes to a strainer then to a seacock.. follow the hose to that seacock and make sure it is open. (usually handle in line with valve) .. When you turn the key on, there will be no oil pressure so that alarm will sound (if everything is working properly).. Make sure transmission is in neutral and the throttle is bumped up a little off idle.. Next push the start button and it should crank over and start.. The alarm should turn off as the oil pressure builds.