New Boat

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bill

I recently put a deposit down on a new Catalina 470 and have a few questions for larger Catalina owners. 1) What options are better installed by Catalina vs local(given competent local craftsmen??? 2) standard main or rollerfurling - advantages and diasadvanatages??? Thanks, Bill

B

Bob Robeson

I'm Jealous

We have a c-36 and am looking at the 470 for our next boat. Bob

G

Gene Foraker

Options

What options are you considering? I supose that the factory canvas might be simpler to buy and cheaper for a decent quality. If you want custom canvas, you might have more flexibility on your own. Most everything else is probably cheaper dealer or localy installed. On my new C-36, we had most everything (instruments, stereo, autoprop, etc.) installed by the dealer's technician. We had it done our way for less. I have no experience with roller mains. Ask on the sailnet Catalina forum or on Cruising world forum. If the weight of raising the main worries you, think about a power winch. A good friend has a new Tartan 4500(?) and the power winch makes it a breeze to sail.

Phil Herring

Alien
Mar 25, 1997
- - Bainbridge Island
furling mains

I've chartered boats with furling mains before, and I didn't like it. the ones I've had were tempermental (one got jammed) and I've been told they're not as efficent as a battened main, which makes sense to me. The power winch is a great option. Using that, I've seen a 5 year-old girl raise a full-roach main on a 45 foot boat! Can't beat that. Where a furling main makes sense, I think, is in an area where you have to reef a lot. Reefing is snap. On SF Bay, where you reef a lot more than you don't, a furling main would be great! No baggy sail hanging of the boom, no lines to tie, little friction; you just set the amount of sail you want and go.

C

Charley Eddy

Options for your 470