Need some THINGS and HELP !!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 19, 2009
Lancer 25 MK 4? still searching this Trailer sailer,,, Louisville
Where to start, I recently acquired a Lancer 25 MK IV, ( according to the sail bags and what little information I can find on the boat) ... And I guess the best place to start is from my uploaded photos. As I am new to sailing, the Bow piece that is busted on in the pictures, where can I find a new one, it covers the corner edge of the bow and connects to the toe rail...

Next, as you look at the pictures I believe I can epoxy and fiberglass the area that is to be covered by the piece that is broken ,, Is this right?

And lastly, the damage to the bow that is near the water line, I am thinking grinding and placing new fiberglass and resin/epoxy into this area and fixing it that way, is this correct or not, as the area is still solid and is not a fracture in the structure nor is it a hole in any way in the bow...

I would like to to go ahead and say thank you to any and all who assist me in this endeavor..
-- The photos are of the port and starboard sides to show respectively the damaged piece I am looking to replace....

Rod....

Attachments

Last edited:
Nov 26, 2007
Lancer 25 SoCal
Fiberglass Repair

Good afternoon Rod. I'd begin by reading Don Casey's book "This Old Boat," which I believe he recently updated. I have another good reference book, which is currently on loan, and I'll post the author and title ASAP.

I bought a Lancer 25 (mast head rig) in March and am about two weeks from getting her wet. Her last registration was from 2001 so I've been taking my time going through her. I previously posted photos of my new bottom paint. Steve

Novelman...my plan is to take HDD to San Diego the first weekend in August with Lee and Trudy. The Venture Yacht Club is having a get together and if all goes well I'll be sleeping on my own vs OPBs. Steve

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
Info