Navigation anomolies

higgs

Aug 24, 2005
Nassau 34 Olcott, NY
Caught in heavy fog today on an 18 mile passage along the south shore of Lake Ontario from Niagara on the Lake to Olcott, Ny. Got socked in with fog pretty good for the last half of the trip. We had no chart plotter, but did have a gps. The depth sounder was having issues so it was pretty much useless. We plotted our position on the Richardson chart using the gps, but it consistently put us on land. Checked using lat/lon and then went by miles out of the target harbor and longitude. It consistently placed us on land. Obviously we made it in with less than .1 miles visibility, but any ideas why the discrepancy in where we actually were and where the gps put us re lat/lon. I have a lot of experience and am confident my plotting was correct. It was verified by the other guy on board.

Feb 17, 2006
Lancer 27PS MCB Camp Pendleton KF6BL
Since you did not identify the GPS unit you were using, my first guess is software anomaly. There recently was a change made to the GPS 2019 Rollover that can actually put you somewhere else other than where you think you are. But mostly that Rollover was related to the date, not the Lat/Long.

Did you have a cell phone with you that could also be used as a GPS receiver. Most cell phones these days have that ability, or even AGPS (Assisted GPS).

I am sure you were aware of the Rollover and Assisted GPS, but just in case I went ahead and mentioned them.

higgs

Aug 24, 2005
Nassau 34 Olcott, NY
I did use google maps on the cell phone which was not always accurate. It showed us 3 miles out when the Garmin said we were 1.5 out. The GPS was a Garmin - old model hand held- and it led us in on the nose. It was the same Garmin that gave us the lat/lon that put us on land.

Jan 4, 2010
Farr 30 San Francisco
Might be format, No expert but... the coordinates can be expressed in degrees/minutes or in degrees-decimal minutes. They are different