mount for 2" pvc enclosed wifi radio (ubiquiti Bullet)

Rodd

Jan 22, 2008
Pearson 424 East Hampton,NY
I have been using a wifi radio called the Bullet for about 4 years now with great success to capture a week ISP hotspot near my marina. I would like to mount the unit in a 2" diam PVC housing up on a spreader to gain extra signal strength. My question is what kind of hole should I drill in the bottom of the PVC (with a cap on ) to be able to thread onto a 1"-14 thread shakespeare 4" stainless"Deck Mount"? I will be running Cat6 from the unit down inside the mast to my router. So question is how to thread the PVC tube onto a 1"-14 mount.

Also, the 8dB gain omni antenna will stick out the top of the PVC and I will need to drill a hole in the top cap as well to accommodate this.
Probably drill some holes in the bottom cap for drainage of any condensation and also to allow some heat dissipation. The unit is supposed to be weatherproof for outdoor mounting, but I prefer to house it in a makeshift PVC tube. All ideas welcome! Thanks!

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
@Rodd ir sounds like a reasonable idea. Figure your already out there on the experimental limb you might as well go for it.

Hole size would be big enough to stick the coax or antenna through. You might find some amalgam tale to seal up the holes and reduce water infiltration. Definitely holes to drain the water you know will find a way in. Perhaps screw type tops so you can remove and service the unit should the need occur.

Random off the cuff thoughts. Let us know how it turns out. And a picture or two would be icing on the cake.

Nov 14, 2013
Catalina 50 Seattle
This will be a lot of work for questionable gain (pardon the pun). Without knowing more, it's hard to say.