Morgan 24 Centerboard

• Thread starter Gordon from Roswell
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gordon from Roswell

I am the proud new owner of a very well maintained 1969 Morgan 24. Took her out on my maiden voyage today on Lanier. Although the lake was low, the wind and temp was great and we had a blast She is a sweet sailer. One thing I wonder about is the centerboard. I tried letting it down early on in our sail, by unhitching the line that comes out of the cockpit starboard stern, and it didn't seem the line went out much. When we began tacking back in to the marina, my crew pulled the line in, the line came in much further than it had been before, and the boat seem to sail better--up into the wind better. It certainly did not sail any worse. I thought the centerboard was supposed to help you sail up into the wind better--but I am a total novice sailer. Anyhow, the centerboard line is now all the way in and will stay that way until I figure out if I even need it. Anybody care to explain this to a greenhorn like me, I would appreciate it. All in all though, I love this boat, it is such a stable, good tracking big old tank, I am glad I got it. thanks, Gordon

G

Gordon

Stepping Mast on the 24