minimum size boat for bahamas cruising

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tom C

I was looking through the archives and came accross a post by someone who was asking about sailing a Hunter 18.5 to Bimini from Florida. The responses he got ran along the lines of 'you're crazy' and 'I hope this is a joke'. I am relatively new to sailing but it got me wondering for future reference; what would be the minimum size boat for safely cruising to the bahamas?

Dec 5, 2003
Hunter 380 Fort Lauderdale
What ever you comfortable in

Living in FLL, we get over via the gulfstream quite a bit. That is the only portion of the trip that one should worry about the size of the boat. Depending on how well the boat is built/equipped, would determine the how good the weather window needs to be cross. Speed of the boat would also determine where the crossing needs to begin. Once inthe islands you will see all kinds of boats from 18 footers to mega yachts and 95% of your time will be in protected water.. Brian

Jun 2, 2004
- - Sandusky Harbor Marina, Lake Erie
25-27 feet?