Mega 30 restoration

Apr 13, 2020
C&C 30 mega Grand Bend
Well today went awful. sanded the primer with 320, tacked it down and mixed my interlux brightside flag blue with 216 thinner, just enough to spray, about %15 and I should've used Pepto-Bismol instead cus it has the runs.

Kinda disappointed with this paint and I know that will instantly bring on criticism towards me cus it's never the product... but I really tried with it. I'm not a pro but I'm also not a noob with painting and I have a proper devilbiss gun. The paint said Do Not put on a mist or tack coat, so following orders I put on the lightest wet coat I could, you could still see the primer. It sprays nice but after a minute it was headed for the floor. I tried less and more thinner, doing a mist coat like it opted against and still had the worst runs I've ever had. The paint is light enough you can see the primer easily!

This paint is probably geared towards brushing or rolling but they give you detailed spray instructions and applicable thinners. I also fail to see how you could get it to stay put with a roller where you're putting it on thicker. Suggestions welcome and suggestions for a different product, I think I should've used a 2k polyurethane in hindsight but the brightside really bragged itself up, I guess that's $300 down the bilge:banghead:
20200426_164001.jpg

Last edited:
Feb 11, 2012
C&C Mega 30 Long Point, Lake Erie
Hi Ethan, a few things things come to mind...a little too much reducer, the paint gun spray ajustments incorrect (not enough cfm pressure from your air source, and/or the spray nozzle not producing a fine enough spray), boat surface too cool (not matching ambient temperature for long enough period of time)

I sprayed the Jet Black paint on my hull with Interlux Perfection (2 part paint) and a high quality spray gun...although different paints, the above factors basically still play the same role.