Looking to buy a Hunter

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 13, 2012
Hunter 170 Bobcaygeon Ontario
I need some advise from Hunter 170 owners, Im looking at purchasing a 1999 Hunter 170, but i am reading alot of hull problems aroung the 1998 models ? should i be leary about purchasing this boat ? and how can i confirm the year of the hull ? thanks

ddeand

Oct 12, 2010
Hunter 170/18 Everywhere
Hello,

You will get some responses that are more informative that mine, but I'll still share my experience when I was looking for a Hunter a couple years ago. I'm in my second year with a Hunter 170/18. When I was looking for a Hunter, I ran across a number of boats that had cracked and a bunch that had no problems whatsoever - the ratio was about 50-50. I really didn't want to take the chance that I might have to do some repairs, so I started to look for Hunter 170s that had the hull replaced with the new 18 foot fiberglass model. Since the newer Hunter 18 was not fully in production, I couldn't really look at those, but they had begun doing warranty replacements with the new fiberglass hull. I had to look hard (around the whole country), but I found one that I could afford that had the new hull and the old 170 sails and rigging. I sailed that last year and had a blast with it. This year, I ordered a Hunter 18 sail and boom for the boat. This has worked for me quite nicely.

I think you'll fine quite a few 170s for sale since they were pretty popular, but you'll likely have to be prepared for the possibility of cracking - at least that's what I gathered from my research. And to be honest, if I hadn't found the boat that I bought, I might have opted for a Precision or maybe a Vanguard Nomad. I am extremely lucky to have found what I wanted, though.

Good luck!

Dean

Mar 2, 2011
Compac 14 Charleston, SC
Hunter 170 cracks