long range cruising on a C22

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jason

I have a plan (well, at this point it's really more of a fantasy than a plan, but it will happen within two years)to sail from Anacortes to Ketchikan on a C22. (or comparable vessel, although C22 is my preference, due to its widespread use, accessiblilty to parts and upgrades, etc.) I am a fairly experienced sailor, although my background is limited to sailing with my father, first on his C22 in the late 70's early 80's, and more recently on his C36. I know how to trim sails, I am familiar with reading charts, and other basic navigational skills. In terms of sailing experience, what I lack is logging in lots of hours on a boat of my own. In addition to sailing skills, what advice can some of you give in terms of a long range cruise with issues specific to a C22? Is a certain part likely to wear out? Choice of sails? Are there specific strategies to use in heavy weather? thanks!!! -jason

J

joe "Blow"

Third time a charm