Line thimble....

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
Hello all....

So I am new to splicing lines and have a question. I am making an anchor bridle. What if I use a single line and put a thimble in the middle and whip the line to hold in place (using line rather than standard whipping).

Right now my bridle has two separate lines and thimbles but it is bulky making need for bigger shackle and inability to easily go over bow roller.

Thanks
Greg

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
Please explain your purpose for the anchor bridle; snubber?

Oct 24, 2010
Hunter 30 Everett, WA
Please explain your purpose for the anchor bridle; snubber?
reduces shock loads from an all-chain rode (Chain has so stretch. The rope used to make the bridle should) and it shares the load by using 2 attach points. I don't use one because I only have a boat length of chain. I also usually deploy a stern anchor as well because our boat sails excessively in a single anchor line and I think it also reduces shock loads.

Ken

Mar 26, 2011
Corsair F-24 MK I Deale, MD
The potential problem with a seizing is that nylon is very difficult to seize successfully. When it stretches it shrinks, the seizing gets loose, and it slides at high load. Water helps it slide. IF you get the twine VERY tight and splice it under tension (use winches) it should hold to ~ 25% BS. But that's about it (I've tested many variations). The line shrinkage problem is a bugger. Ans this is why seizing worked baack in the day; higher friction ropes, lower strength, much less shrinkage under working load.

If it is 3-strand, you could use a Y-splice. You could also try switching to a chain attachment that does not require shackles or metal hardware. I like a soft shackle when the rode must pass over the roller. Very smooth.

• Helpful
Jan 22, 2008
Islander Freeport, 41 Ketch Longmont, CO
Please help explain the need for chain stretch?