Leaking Water Tank

Jan 12, 2017
Hunter Legend 40.5 New Orleans, LA
Hi all!

I am new to SBO and also relatively new to sailing so pls bear with me here! ;) My husband and I just purchased a 1994 Hunter Legend 40.5. We've recently noticed a dark spot on the wood flooring that sits above our starboard water tank and when we pulled up the floor piece, found that the starboard water tank was leaking--we can tell this because when we push on the top of it, water spills out (not much but enough that it has partially rotted the wood floor over time). It seems like it's what would be considered a "molded in" tank with screws all around the top of it. And, from what I can tell, the leaking probably has happened to the previous owner, too, as there is silicone sealant applied all around the edges of the tank and some of the screws. Photo attached here.

Any idea how to fix the leak? A friend recommended using a screw driver to pull up all of the surrounding silicone sealant (which I already started to do) and then applying 5200 in its place to seal but I'm not sure if that's the best option for us. Thanks in advance!

Brooke

Attachments

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
Are you saying it is leaking where the top is screwed to the rest of the tank? If so, I would think removing all of the screws, carefully (so you don't break it) remove the top, scrape off all of the old sealant from top and tank, and reassembling the top with a good (and FDA-compliant) caulk should fix the problem.

I would not use 5200 for several reasons...it is the devils glue, and if you ever wanted to remove the top to clean or inspect your tank, you will destroy it before it comes apart. I see an inspection port...but still, 5200 is permanent. Second, you store drinking water in the tank....is 5200 safe for contact with drinking water?

If the tank itself is cracked, that is a different issue. Not sure if you can chemically or thermally "weld" the crack.

Good luck with your project.

Greg