Lancer 28 or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 19, 2012
Lancer Lancer ca
I am looking at a Lancer 28 a boat. I have no experience with these boats and have mostly sailed Ericsons and Catalinas. I have only about 120 to 150 hours light sailing experience and have only single handed 5 times a 27 Ericson in 15+ knots wind about 60 miles or so.

I was wondering if this is a good boat in general and also a good beginner/intermediate boat?
Like I said I know nothing about them as far as the quality and handling , etc.

The boat comes on a trailer which I like, although I cannot imagine towing a 4000+ lb. fixed keel 28 foot sailboat... Should I have had a V8?

Thanks for any help and suggestions.

Jul 26, 2011
Lancer 28 Collin Park Marina
I purchased a lancer 28 last July and love it easy to sail have not tried solo yet. I keep mine in the water so don't know about towing

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
I had the little brother of the 28, the 25. There are a lot of compromises made to make these boats maxi-trailerables. Usually the price is very attractive per foot, but the shallow broad keel impacts performance. The boats aren't very roomy compared to their less trailerable peers. They are also fairly light for their size. If the price is right and you like it, consider it, but I strongly suggest you sail it first, but that is true of any boat.

Mar 26, 2012
Adventure Yachts Fantasia 35 Vancouver, BC
My Lancer 28 will crab sideways a fair bit, and a deeper keel would resolve that. On the other-hand, I can squeeze into a shallow bay, and use dock spaces that others cannot, because of the 3ft draft.

I had a Venture 24 trailer sailboat, and the Lancer is solid and luxurious in comparison. I'm moored, without a trailer, and it's nice to have everything in the boat ready to go.