Is the 7.3 enough boat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rbyham

May 28, 2012
Oday 23 Lanier
I am still considering a 7.3 but have a question relative to size. I am looking for first sailboat. Wife and I are very healthy/active late 60s folks. Living coastal in South Carolina. We see ourselves on the ICW and connected bays. Some barrier island visits. We don't see ourselves on the big blue. The 7.3 looks like a great coastal cruiser. But at 24' I am concerned it might not be enough boat. Wanting to do weekend overnights (the two of us) and occasionally sail with 5 adults and being 6'2" will we outgrow this boat quickly once we are proficient sailors? Thanks folks.

timtim

Nov 12, 2012
Hunter 28.5 Southport, NC
rbyham, I'm new to sailing and just got a S2 8.0, 26' with a 5'10" head room. I feel it will be great for starters and see myself stepping up to a 30 footer later.

rbyham

May 28, 2012
Oday 23 Lanier
I hear you Tim. Your experience is exactly why I am asking the question. I see 27s and 30s available in my area as well. So I am wondering if I should just bite the bullet in and start with something bigger rather than buy a smaller starter boat with the plan to move up later. I have only lost money every time I have bought-sold-bought a depreciating asset like a boat.

Squidd

Sep 26, 2011
AMF Alcort Paceship PY26 Washburn Wi. Apostle Islands
I would vote for the slightly larger boat to start as well ( I have a 26.5' LOA 9'6" beam 6'2" headroom boat)

That extra 2 foot long also translates to wider and taller so the effective "Volume" of the boat is increased expotentially, while handling and sailing characteristics change only slightly...You (and the wife) will appreciate the extra room if you plan on doing any amount of sleepovers (other than occasional weekend)

The head room and ("head" room) will be an asset as well along with a "real" head installation (from your other post)...