Is 27ft oday worth fixing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 11, 2010
oday 27 Kingston Ontario
Hello. I am a newbie to the site as well as a newbie sailer and boat owner. I have always wanted to sail and a few years ago I finally broke down and took lessons. I learned on a 24ft Shark. Being busy with three kids I let the sailing go although I purchased a 13ft cottage sailer. A friend of a friend came across an abandoned 1974 oday 27 that he wanted $1500 for. I couldn't see how I could go wrong. The Vire 7 engine runs. All of the rigging is there. Came on a craddle and I now have it in my yard. I was 44 years old and I told my wife even if it sits in the yard and I just dream it is worth the price. I am now 46 years old and have decided that life is too short and want to fix it up. It needs a lot of deck work (delamination due to water damage) and the rudder needs to be rebuilt. The interior needs work but nothing that I couldn't do myself. The main concern for me was to make sure that it was safe to sail. I have a price of approx. $7500 Can to repair the entire hull and I am getting another estimate next week. I have wondered if I should just buy a boat that is already to go but figured that I might just buy something that may end up needing work as well. Figure once that is hull is done I will know what I have.

any thoughts
I have kinda become attached to this boat.....may have already made up my mind.

there is a 1970 Bristol that "has nothing wrong with it" for $8000

Thanks to all for any comments

Glenn

Dec 8, 2006
Oday 26 Starr, SC
attention Glenn