I just bought an American Fiberglass Daysailer 16...gonna have questions for y'all!

May 24, 2024
American Fiberglass Daysailer 16 Chatfield Resovoir
Hello everyone,
I just bought this 1973 American Fiberglass Company Daysailer 16
-Major issue is the seperation of the deck from the centerboard. (seems like fillet and fiberglass it back together).
-Only came with the main sail.
-needs a good clean, couple small busted parts...will get into and photograph.
-I am a total beginner, and I have signed up for a sailing class at my local lake/resovoir.
-Im gonna fix up the boat on an easy schedule, the class provides boats so no pressure on getting this together to sail right away.

Appreciate any input, and thanks for letting me join the community!

Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.48 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.59.10 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.24 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.59 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.15 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.03 AM.png
Screen Shot 2024-05-24 at 11.58.36 AM.png

May 24, 2024
Well my first concern is water that may have gotten in through the separation at centerboard and deck, boat has been outside some.
From reading id imagine I need to dry out the area, and then use 3M 5200 or something similar to patch and then fiberglass.

My question is how to confirm/investigate if water is inside.
Ive read about folks tipping/rotating the boat, then placing heat lamp inside cavity etc.
Trouble shooting I suppose.

I also need to procure a jib sail and would like recommendations on where to find.

I plan on painting the topside of the boat in white sanded/grip paint, what brand of paint is generally being used?

Thanks in advance!!

May 24, 2024
Welcome ..Ask away.. We love pictures
*Apologies I didn't realize I could respond with a direct reply:

Well my first concern is water that may have gotten in through the separation at centerboard and deck, boat has been outside some.