Hunter 456

Feb 11, 2017
former Tartan 30 New London, CT area
Any deck sweeper is a racing sail and requires deck track that is easily adjusted for clew position to tweak headsail camber. They trim inside the lifelines when on the wind which requires another crew member to skirt the jib when tacking. If you're doing serious racing, this stuff is worthwhile. I've seen boats with multiple deck tracks to sheet the deck sweeper to different trim angles depending on wind and sea conditions.
If you're just cruising, other things become more important. You like to see where you're going - think high clew and perhaps the tack on a short pennant. For ease of tacking, think less overlap - maybe a 120?
Hope this helps..

Feb 6, 2019
Hunter 456 Naples
Thanks
I’ve been racing my Benetau for the last 7 years and now am going into cruising. I have my gerhauer traveling cars and do want to place a secondary track in for proper shape. Eventually I want to recut the old headsail for a staysail setup. That’s one goal. You’re right though about visibility. The other option is to leave the headsail as is and put a code zero on. The trade winds will limit my angle of attack though. I miss my Benetau but really like the layout of the 456. I’d like to go faster though. You can never take the racer out of the equation when cruising though. Your thoughts?

Feb 11, 2017
former Tartan 30 New London, CT area
I've done racing too, taking home a good variety of trinkets! Cruising is a different game. My cruising has been local coastal stuff involving one (at most two) nights at sea. When cruising, you really don't want to go upwind. Helped bring a boat back from Bermuda and after 3 days on port tack, you start to develop one short leg! Weather legs are hard on the boat and harder on the crew.