Hunter 18.5 Topping Lift Setup? Need Help

May 30, 2018
Standing By 20 Garage
Good afternoon, recently picked up a Hunter 18.5 and was finally able to get it out today. While this is my third sailboat I’m still fairly new to sailing and getting my feet wet.
I was able to get most of the setup good to go but had some issues with the main sail. Looked it up and realize my topping lift has me confused. I just don’t understand how it’s supposed to be setup.
I don’t have a slip so I have to raise and drop the mast every time I go out and will need to set it up for this.
(Sidenote, I’d love some pictures of how others are raising and dropping the mast on their own)
That aside, I didn’t know what it was called until now, but there was a line tied to the top of the mast and I assumed it was for the topping lift for the boom. It’s tied off on the top of the mast and had a clip where I thought it would clip to the back of the main sail boom. However it was way too long and wouldn’t run through the main sail like it’s supposed to. There is a line in the boom for what I assume to be a topping line but it’s tied off into a knot.
Also I assume these boats don’t have a back stay as I don’t see one but maybe that’s what the line knotted to the top of the mast is? But then again, how do I make that work and the topping line setup?
Here’s what I have setup, I knotted it up to “make” it work but I know it’s wrong.

any help would be appreciated on how to rig this up.
First two pictures show how the line is presently knotted to the top of the mast, that just leads down a long line with a clip at the end.
Last picture shows the main sail and how I just tied off that line to make it hold the end of the boom up for today. I just want to make it correct.

Attachments

May 30, 2018
Standing By 20 Garage