Hunter 146 comments

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Diego

Hellooo, anybody here? Pondering getting a H146 and was wondering if I could get the pros and cons about this model. Thanks, Diego PS/ I guess someone had to be the first to post in here.

M

Mark

We're here . . .

. . . but it's winter now and the mind doesn't turn as readily to thoughts of sailing. How many people will be sailing with you? Will you be trailering? Sailing on small or Great lakes? Anything in particular you're looking for? I'm a 170 owner and I love my boat. It accomodates my family of four, plus an occasional guest or two. It's easy to set up, sail and trailer, even single handed. It's dry - no water comes through the centerboard well. Low maintenance! It's pretty forgiving for a dinghy - a good boat for novices or for teaching. Hope this helps a bit. I have no experience with the 146 but it looks like a small 170. Keep checking this site and sooner or later someone who has a 146 will give you their opinion.

J

John Kivel

it's a really nice boat

Hi Diego, It's a really sweet little boat. I test sailed one at the Michigan City boat show and loved it. I ended up buying a 170 because I found a really good deal on a used one. The size is really good for two adults or two adults and two kids. I think four adults might be crowded on it. It would be perfect for single handing and you can pick up and drag the trailer with one hand, I love the open transom, especially if you don't plan to strap a motor onto it. Of course what Mark said is also right. It's a boat that I would love in a 800 acre lake. If I lived on near Lake Michigan I'd probably want a boat with more mass, even if I wanted a small daysailer. Hope my two cents helps, John

D

Diego

Thanks