Hull repair question

Will D

Aug 22, 2018
O'Day Daysailer Pueblo Reservoir
Hi all, I am a newbie to hull repair and maintenance and the bottom of my 1972 Oday Daysailer II which I bought last year and sailed 4 times is worn pretty badly. Maybe it was beached or ruon aground a lot. How might I go about protecting my hull
20190531_154842.jpg
20190531_154752.jpg
20190531_154842.jpg
20190531_154752.jpg
from further damage, given what you see in the pictures? I have a gelcoat scratch/gouge repair kit and some fiberglass sheets and epoxy. I don't have power tools except a drill, and I don't have a gelcoat sprayer. Thanks for your compassionate and cost-effective suggestions.

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
Will
There is an O’Day forum on the website as well and suggest going there. It would be helpful either or both you could advise length of boat and model.

Cannot tell hull to keel joint. Basically you would fill in scrapes and small voids with two part epoxy with or without fiberglassing sanded smooth and on the bottom of the hull below the water line of course prepped as well, I would advise 4-6 coats of barrier costs

Jim26m

Apr 3, 2019
Macgregor 26M Mobile AL
Hi all, I am a newbie to hull repair and maintenance and the bottom of my 1972 Oday Daysailer II which I bought last year and sailed 4 times is worn pretty badly. Maybe it was beached or ruon aground a lot. How might I go about protecting my hull from further damage, given what you see in the pictures?.
If you are planning to run it aground on riprap, I don't know. Geez that hurts to look at!

There are hull protectors that can be affixed to protect from sand abrasion, but what your boat has been subjected to is well beyond that.

https://www.wholesalemarine.com/kee...MIgNLhm7nI4gIVF6SzCh0gGQMaEAQYBSABEgLiXPD_BwE

Jim26m

Apr 3, 2019
Macgregor 26M Mobile AL