How to Set a Genoa Sail Car

Mar 23, 2015
Catalina 22 MK-II Dillon, CO
Hi Guys,
I am relatively new to sailing and sail on Lake Dillon, CO. Wind speed and direction changes often and I have been practicing sailing with the Genoa only, letting it out and reefing as the wind demands. I am still pretty tentative in what I consider heavy winds .. :}
So I think that the pully on the genoa car should move forward when the sail is reefed and should be moved aft when the Genoa is fully let out, yes? There are several stops along the car, so how does one decide exactly where to set the pully with intermediate reefing of the sail?
Thanks, as always, for the insight.
cec

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
If you extend the line created by the sheet from lead block to clew all the way to the mid point on the sail's luff... i.e. bisecting the clew angle... your jib lead will be in a neutral trim position. Mark the mid point... or estimate it if you can't measure.. tension the sheet...check the alignment. Do this for a couple of reef positions and mark on the track. Chances are they will not vary that much.... The various positions on the jib/genoa track are more often used for shaping the headsail.. if you get a good sail trim guide such as the one offered on this site by Don Guillette.... you'll improve your confidence rapidly.

My recommendation to you is to use both your sails... it makes the boat much more balanced. If you reef the main before you go out and sail with a reefed genoa... you'll be able to balance the helm and use the mainsheet or traveler to handle the gusts rather than messing with the roller furling.

BTW.... call it a block, not a pulley.

Last edited:
Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Joe gives good advice, especially about using both sails.