How do I know when holding tank is full?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dupree

Mar 10, 2010
Ericson Ericson 29 Plymouth
That's probably a total newbie question, but then I AM a total newbie with this stuff. I've never had a boat with a holding tank before and there's no gauge and you can't see through the walls of the tank (thank goodness!).

So how can I tell when it's getting full and needs pumping out? Will the head just be too difficult to pump (grocco)? What happens? I don't even want to imagine overfilling and blowing something up! I don't know if there's an overflow or what (and where would an overflow go anyway?).

Help!

Dupree

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
If you can't see through your tank I suggest you get a gauge...otherwise the first time you find out will be after a crewmember can't flush the toilet properly perhaps screwing things up good. Now imagine having to fix things afterwards.

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock
Yep..you do need help! :)

That's probably a total newbie question, but then I AM a total newbie with this stuff. I've never had a boat with a holding tank before and there's no gauge and you can't see through the walls of the tank (thank goodness!).

So how can I tell when it's getting full and needs pumping out? Will the head just be too difficult to pump (grocco)? What happens? I don't even want to imagine overfilling and blowing something up! I don't know if there's an overflow or what (and where would an overflow go anyway?).Help! Dupree
If you cannot determine the level in the tank visually, CG regs require a gauge. You can buy a cheap one that only lets you know when the tank is full...or spend a bit more for one that tells how much is actually in the tank. I recommend that approach.