Honda BF9.9A DC Receptacle Concerns

Jan 25, 2019
Hunter 25.5 Weiss Lake
I am new to sailboat ownership. Our Hunter 25.5 came with a Honda BF9.9A with the DC Receptacle for charging the battery. The manual indicates the plug should output 12V @ 6amp. I am measuring a low varying voltage with no load at idle. My background tells me the voltage regulator/rectifier has failed or it is designed to have no output without a load

Does anyone have experience with feature?

Does it only have the 12V at speed? I'm concerned about connecting up to my battery only to have battery push back into the DC Receptacle to fry something.

- Brian

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
What is the output at cruising RPM? Oh, by all means connect the battery, it will not damage anything that already might be damaged. These alternators are weak and do not put out much Amps at idle.

Jan 25, 2019
Hunter 25.5 Weiss Lake
What is the output at cruising RPM? These alternators are quite weak, especially at idle. If the readings are the same at higher RPM then regulator/rectifier could be shot.
I didn't test that when I have a propeller off when doing the oil changes. It is back on the sailboat now so I will have to get some help to measure that while underway.

I was concerned about placing a 1 to 3 volt output onto a 12 volt battery's terminals.

walt

Jun 1, 2007
Macgregor 26S Hobie TI Ridgway Colorado
If I read correct, you measure that voltage on the plug.. but not connected to a battery.