Hole through Luran on Bow: Repair suggestions requested

Dec 19, 2018
Hunter 23 Humboldt Bay
Hello all,

I somehow put a hole in my Luran on 10-24-20 when I was moving my Hunter 23 (1987 model)! I don't even know how it happened. But, I assure you that I was greatly saddened when I saw it while I was putting the her, the Coral Rose, into her winter storage barn. I have never worked with Luran before (I bought this, my first sailboat, in Nov-2018) this. In addition, I have not done any fiberglass repairs.

It appears (you can see the photos for yourself) that a 2.5 inch curved section of the Luran was knocked off and the foam layer is also gone. You can see the fiber reinforced plastic (FRP) evident in the bottom of the hole.

I was thinking that perhaps I could just do a fiberglass repair as described by West System Fiberglass Boat Repair Kit instructions: this is basically fill the space with cut pieces of fiberglass and each layer is then saturated with West 105 Epoxy/406 filler/206 hardener mixture. Build one layer on top of the other until it is slightly taller than the original Luran. Then sand it until it is exactly the same shape and height as the original Luran. This might not give a perfect color match (I do have the whitener that West System sells to go into their 105 Epoxy mixtures and could add whitener until the whiteness of the Luran is matched. There might be a slight difference in color when the fiberglass repair cures but I am prepared to live with slight difference in color).

Can I ask for someone (perhaps Crazy Dave Condon) to suggest a repair that will be strong and waterproof - obviously I don't want water trickling into the Luran/fiberglass joints of the repair if the joints don't seal watertight?

What do you folks recommend?

Thanks,

Mark
Owner of the
Coral Rose
(Isleton, CA, USA)

Attachments

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
I agree with @Hunter216