Hola NW's

Oct 30, 2009
hunter 1977 sloop seattle
Hello, I'm new to the NW and new to sailing. I want to plan a cruise to the San Juan's this summer and would love any advice on where to go,when to leave,what to read, what to have, and what to expect.

Bob V

Mar 13, 2008
Catalina 42mkII Lagoon Point
Thanks for posting

I was wondering when someone would start to use this forum. It has been empty for quite some time.

I would recommend that you pick up the latest copy of Waggoner's Guide as a start. Another good book is Gunkholing the San Juans.

You will need some way to predict the tides and currents. There are many paper tide atlasses available but if you are travelling with a computer there is an excellent piece of software called Tides & Currents Pro. The benefit of this is that it gives you information on many differnt areas. That is important especially after you get north of Port Townsend. The currents can run very fast in some places and those of us who travel in slow boats can not afford to ignore them. The times can vary widely from place to place.

There are many great state parks with mooring buoys and docks for you to use and you can buy a season pass that is a real bargain.

Plan on stopping overnight in Port Townsend so that you can begin your crossing early in the morning. The afternoon winds can blow strong in the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the afternoon. You should try to find a day where the tide is ebbing in the morning and flooding in the afternoon so that it will be downhill the whole way across. The crossing is likely to take 5 hours or more. There is plenty of shipping traffic to watch out for.

There are way too many great places to cover them all in one reply or to see in one trip so I'll just give you a few .suggestions