h34 "Claude/Allan Hybrid" Compression Post Repair

dcalif

Feb 17, 2015
Hunter 34 Monterey Bay
The inevitable failure of the compression post began to show on our Hunter 34 :
cp-damage.jpg

So I studied the solutions here on the forum. Especially Claude Auger's outstanding summary of his post repair and Allan Hadad's milled solution. (Allan was even kind enough to send me his CAD drawings and later check out the results of my approach when we were done.) However, I don't know anyone who can mill, and the quotes I got were insanely expensive. Also, after removing the wooden traverse beam, it seemed I was working with far less space than it appeared Claude and Allan had. I chalked this up to differences from boat to boat. It may look like we didn't get all the wood, but we did.
cptraversecleared.jpg

cptraversespace.jpg

I went with hybrid from both approaches and went with welds. I chose to stay with the same metal, 6061 aluminum throughout and bought three pieces online. One "traverse beam," the post and the base plate. Oddly, I had to use two different sources for the aluminum, as I couldn't find a single supplier of plate and square tubing in 6061. Both were excellent. The pieces cut to order were exact and delivery was timely.

Traverse
Source: midweststeelsupply.com
Specs: 6061-T651 Plate, 1.5", 3.375" x 13" (your measurements will vary)
$25.62 after discount and not including shipping
Note: midweststeelsupply.com had a different special every day, usually 15%. If there's no discount today on "aluminum plate" or "all products," there likely will be tomorrow or the day after. Shipping prices are reasonable, considering the weight.

Base
Source: midweststeelsupply.com
Specs: 6061-T651 Plate, 1", 4" x 4" (we cut this down)
$6.36 after discount and not including shipping

Specs: 6061-T6 square tube, 2" x .25", cut to '72 (this was the only piece not cut to order)
Price: $54.50 not including shipping

Construction