Got a used sailboat for almost nothing, a few questions on sails and rigging

Apr 19, 2020
Newport 16 Palm Harbor
Hello, I'm completely new to sailing and just bought a trailer sailor off craigslist for very cheap. Done a lot of internet research to learn more about setting it up nicely, but I've been unable to find information about my following questions. Attached are relevant pics of the boat. I have no idea what model of boat this is. Title lists it as a 16' 2" Newport built in 1974, but the cabin of a Newport 16 looks completely different (This just has a small crawl-in type cabin. Cannot find any boats online, Newport or otherwise, that match.

1.) I'm not convinced the sails are large enough. The mast measures at 22' end to end, and the sails are 17' long, creating 5' of distance between the bottom of the sail and the cabin of the boat where the mast sits, which seems like a lot. There's another several feet between the top of the cabin and the deck of the boat. This causes the boom to look high up compared to other similar boats I've seen. When the jib is raised with the tack connected to the boat, I can't raise it all the way up. The foot of the jib also seems like it would get caught up on the top of the cabin when tacking because of how low it is. Not sure if I should just raise the jib all the way up and tighten it to the point with a length of rope or something.