Genoa percentage

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 22, 2005
- - -
I am fairly new to this so bear with me on this one. When a sail is said to be a 110% or 135% genoa what is that a measurement of. Is it percentage of a standard mainsail for that boat ie a 150% genoa is 50% larger that the main? Dave

W

Warren Milberg

Headsail percentages

Dave: Headsail sizes, expressed in percentages, are based on: (size of the headsail luff x headsail foot x per cent overlap) divided by 2. Anything over 100 per cent indicates the headsail foot overlaps the distance from the tack of the headsail to the mast, and has nothing at all to do with the size of the main. Hope this helps. We've all been there.

Jon W.

May 18, 2004
Catalina 310 C310 Seattle Wa
Headsail measurements

Here is a more technical (and precise) explanation. LP Defined The LP or Luff Perpendicular is a measurement used to describe the size of a headsail. The LP measurement is the length of the line perpendicular to the luff that passes through the clew. The percentage of a sail (150%, 135%, 100%) and the J dimension are used to calculate the LP of a given sail. The J dimension is the distance between the forestay intersection with your deck aft to the front of your mast. Calculating your sails LP Example: If a Catalina 30 (standard rig) owner wanted a 130% headsail for his/her sailboat with a J dimension of 11.54', the LP calculation would look like this: 11.54' x 1.3 (130%) = 15.0' LP = 15'

higgs

Aug 24, 2005
Nassau 34 Olcott, NY
a rough guide but simple

a 100% jib genoa will go back as far as the mast a 150 goes is 50% bigger and overlaps the mast

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
sail size, nothing to do with mainsail.

Don't settle for a simple explanation. Here's a link to help you understand how headsails are sized. http://www.cruisingdirect.com/BoatDiagram.htm http://www.cruisingdirect.com/LP_Measure.htm

A

Andy W.

geometry