Gas or Diesiel ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Doug

I have been shopping around for a C-30 for a few months now and it seams to be a lot of nice 30s with the atomic 4 gas . Should I hold out for the diesel??

L

LaDonna Bubak - Catalina Owners

Not necessarily

A-4s have a pretty loyal following and parts are usually easy to find. I believe there's a company in CA that specializes in parts for them. It's really more what you feel comfortable with. There are a lot of folks out there that are (not unjustly) nervous of gas engines for their reputed propensity to explode. I say "reputed" as there have been instances of gas engines exploding but it's not by any means common. From what I understand, if the A-4 is maintained and serviced well, they're not a bad engine to own. Personally, I wouldn't rule out a boat with a gas engine, it would just depend on the condition and price. I certainly wouldn't pay as much for a gas engine as diesel. LaDonna

G

gary jensen

diesel is best

Keep looking for a diesel. Gas can be very dangerous and most diesels, when maintained, are bullet proof.

J

Joe Luciano

Definitely a Diesel

Gary is right. Hold out for the diesel engine. Safety is certainly a consideration and no one would argue that diesel is the safer of the two. But, from a reliability standpoint, you can't beat a diesel engine. There is less to go wrong and properly maintained, the diesel will last longer.

R

Ron

Gas vs. Diesel