Fuel Filters ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 6, 2010
Guys,

I have a Universal (Westerbeke) 3M20A engine, about 15 years old.
I have bought my fuel filters from NAPA for years now. But, my last fuel filter change out brought up some questions.

My primary fuel/water separator is a Racor, is a 10 micron filter.
FROM THERE IT GOES INTO AN OLDER BARREL TYPE OF FUEL PUMP.
My friend who has an older 25XP has the same filtration setup.

My question is this:

If my fuel goes thru a 10 micron filter, than to the fuel pump (which my friend says is a 7.4 micron basket screen), then onto the secondary filter to the injectors, why is my secondary a 10 micron also. Seems to defeat the purpose.

My background is in process piping design. The thinking thusly is that when filtering, you use a step-down approach. So, lets follow the flow:

The primary is a fuel/water separator, complete with a water draw-off @ 10 microns. From there it hits the suction side of what I found was an older model fuel pump.

My friend Len said the basket filtration is 7.4 microns. Yes, this is a step-down in filtration. NAPA, (8) years ago said that the change out filter in the downstream (secondary filter #3390) was a 2 micron filter.

I did further research today & found out this was incorrect. The #3390 NAPA filter was a 10 micron filter, so let's recap.

My existing filtration system is a 10 micron in the primary filter to my fuel pump (@ 7.4 microns+/_ ? filter) on to my secondary filter at the pressure side of my fuel filter (#3390, a 10 micron filter) running to my injectors.

What's wrong with this setup???.......if at all.

I've hadn't had any problems with my fuel pump basket screen, and my secondary filter during changeouts. When cut in half the secondary filter shows clean. WTF?