Footing Off

Status
Not open for further replies.
May 17, 2004
Other Catalina 30 Tucson, AZ
Todd; Your right I do have extensive sail trim knowledge and I can trim sails with the best of them but I'm not an engineer or a math guy. I was an insurance company VP who set up start up operations for companies. In other words, a company located in GA would want to set up in So Ca but all they knew was where DisneyLand was located. I'd buy the waste paper baskets, desks, handle the Insurance dept and hire the people and then go to their largest operation to learn how they operated (they all operate the same way Ben Franklin did when he wrote the first insurance policy) and then I'd install it and run it for them.

I can't go into the detail that RichH, Joe from San Diego, Alan and Stu J can put forth but I know exactly what they are talking about even though I sometimes tell Alan I don't. A man has got to know his limitations and I know mine. If I tried to put forth like those guys I'd get caught up in underware very quicklyand I'd sound foolish. When I get into the low expert sail trim area I do it by the seat of my pants. I don't know anything about changing potential energy into kinetic energy. I don't even know what kinetic energy is!! For example, I can't explain the lift/drag curve but I know when I'm at the top of it and I can make it work for me - I feel the boat through my feet and through my hands on the sheets. Sails and veggie plants in my garden talk to me!!

Nov 24, 2009
Performance sailcraft Mega-byte West Palm Beach
The top sailor in our dinghy fleet has been "power pinching " his way to the windward mark for years.The question arises,at what point does this become using kinetics,since it also includes repetitive rudder changes and mast angle changes? Or is it all legal?

Nov 24, 2009