Flushing diesel engine and air conditioner

Feb 20, 2016
None None None
Flushing diesel engine and air conditioner

Hello:

I am kind of new to all of this maintenance stuff.

I want to flush my engine with barnacle buster or equivalent. I have seen a product called Sea flush. Don’t know if that is the way to go, or whether there is a better way.

I’m wondering what I need to assemble for a system to flush the engine.

I’m hoping to use the same system, whatever it is, to do the air-conditioner.

Thanks.

Michael

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
Why do you want to do this? Is something wrong?

What engine, how many hours?
What type of air conditioner?

Last edited:
Feb 20, 2016
None None None
It is a Volvo M.D. 2020.

T The air-conditioner is a Cruiseair. The reason I’m doing this is that it hasn’t been done in three years. I’m of the belief that you deal with problems before they deal with you.

SG

Feb 11, 2017
J/Boat J/160 Annapolis
I wouldn't use acid flush in an AC unit unless you have some reason to believe it's not working, GoofeyFoot. [I hope that isn't a\your nom de web or 'handle' because some injury :^))]

Similary, I'd not flush the antifreeze just to do so. Do you have a heat exchanger or is the engine raw water cooled? If you have a heat exchanger, and you want to do something more proactive. You might take out the core and have it ultrasonically cleaned by a radiator shop. The acid cleaning is not as effective and may just lead to unintended problems, in my experience. Again: IF the engine doesn't overheat at higher rpm's under load, I'd not do that. Change the impellers, check the hoses, etc., etc.

By the way, where are you generally based? Where was the boat sailed or how well used were it's systems, etc., etc. Age and history might influence advice here. Do the engine and its' compartment look like it needs a bunch of TLC?

Feb 20, 2016
None None None
Thanks folks.