Finish on interior Hunter 356?

Jun 17, 2012
C&C 35 MKIII Manitowoc, WI
Good morning from Lake Michigan.
I have a 2002 Hunter 356. It’s in basically pristine condition...except for the paneling on either side of the companionway. The finish has seriously faded and basically degraded. There is no delamination—just appearance related surface degradation (kind of like the finish just wore thin). Funny thing is I am a pretty skilled woodworker so refinish is typically easy for me. However I’m not certain what the original finish was. So if any of my sailor friends know what finish product (brand/manufacturer) or color palate was used on the 356...that would save me plenty of stripping, sanding and color matching efforts. If you have knowledge or experience with this-thanks for your time and comments.
Jim n Kathy on SamiDog

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
However I’m not certain what the original finish was.
If it's anything like my '99 310, all interior panelling was finished with teak oil.

I've had good success on dings and defect with rubbing teak oil into the surface with 1000 grit wet or dry. However if it's faded as you say, there's no telling how deep the discolorization goes. My best bet would be to experiment in an area which will not show (and we all know how well that works). Also try heavier grit in increments until you get something that works.

Good luck and glad it's you and not me on this one :pray: .

Nov 14, 2018
Hunter 260 Vancouver, WA
While I don't own a Hunter 356 (it's a hunter 260), I found a bunch of documents on an FTP site that marlow-hunter.com runs a while back. I tried to get back in and look at it, but it now seems to need a password. I downloaded all the H260 and generic documents I thought I might need. I do have some miscellaneous documents from the site with the word teak in them. I have attached them.