Don't you hate it when motor doesn't start?

Ward H

Nov 7, 2011
Catalina 30 Mk II Barnegat, NJ
You work all day getting the boat ready for launch and the last thing on the list is to test start the motor AND IT DOESN'T START!
You spend 20-30 minutes trouble shooting!
You end up staring at the engine panel in vain,

Only to discover you forgot you don't run turn the ignition switch to start, YOU PRESS THE START BUTTON! :facepalm:

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
Glad you are in the water finally! I'm planning Friday and Saturday sails, need to take a work break!

capta

Jun 4, 2009
Pearson 530 Admiralty Bay, Bequia SVG
I spent a whole day working on one of those fancy all mahogany varnished RIVA runabouts for a gentleman and in the end just could not get her to start. I'm a pretty good marine engineer and rarely fail to win when it comes to engines, but this one had me beat.
As I cleaned and buttoned up the boat, I bumped the gear shift and it clicked loudly! All those hours and work and the damn thing wasn't in neutral. Obviously, I couldn't charge the guy a cent, so it was an expensive lesson. However, no vessels I've run since has a working neutral safety switch. It is one of the very first things I discombobulate when taking over a boat.

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
WARD. I gave you a like cause I thought you deserved something. Because I was:laugh:
:redface:And the OMG emoji :eek: was to busy :laugh:.

One of those moments.

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
That’s sort of like pressing the ‘auto’ button to engage the autopilot (you thought), but instead pressed the button next to it, ‘standby’, then stepping away, only to find the boat doing a hard over to starboard throwing the skipper onto his keester. How embarrassing. Look before you leap, eh?

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago