Does O'Day 19 Float When Capsized

May 18, 2012
Oday 19 Lake George
Post title says it all. I'm still new to my 1979 O'Day 19. A friend told me he sailed same boat many years ago with his dad and it went over and sank. There is some floatation around storage lockers in cockpit ... but doesn't look like a lot. My outboard is a 6hp Yamaha weighing about 55 lbs. No close calls yet but I take out my grand kids and always assumed if worse happened it would at least float.
Appreciate any thoughts (obviously life jackets for the kids are a must).

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME
Post title says it all. I'm still new to my 1979 O'Day 19. A friend told me he sailed same boat many years ago with his dad and it went over and sank. There is some floatation around storage lockers in cockpit ... but doesn't look like a lot. My outboard is a 6hp Yamaha weighing about 55 lbs. No close calls yet but I take out my grand kids and always assumed if worse happened it would at least float.
Appreciate any thoughts (obviously life jackets for the kids are a must).
The centerboard cable on ours snapped when I was a kid. The CB slammed the trunk sides while on the mooring and the side to side slamming eventually fractured the hull and she sank. She floated bow up because some air got trapped in there... About 12" of the bow was visible above water..... Ours was an early model 2+2 (?). Perhaps later ones had some flotation added?

Nov 9, 2012
Oday 192 Lake Nockamixon
Don't get the O'day 19s confused. There's the old O'day Mariner 19 which I think MaineSail is referring to, because it was available in a 2+2 version with bigger cuddy cabin: http://sailboatdata.com/viewrecord.asp?class_id=41

And then there's the newer design O'day 19: http://sailboatdata.com/viewrecord.asp?class_id=75

I know my 192 has foam all up under the V-berth, so I assume it'll stay floating. But the 192 was introduced 5 years after the 19, which is what, 10 years newer than the Mariner 19?

Brian