Does a sailboat hold value?

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Paul Bradbury

I am a novice to the sailboat game, and almost made a purchase of a 1997-36s7 Beneteau last week. My question,...is a sailboat a good investment? Will it hold value if maintained, or is depreciation just part of the price to sail? At what point will a sailboat slow it's depreciation and how accurate is a site called "Bucnet" with regards to representing the suggested boat values. eg 1997 Beneteau 36s7 dropped $8000.00 per year and that to me seems kind of high. Could use some help with the real truth to boat ownership...and not some story from a boat saleman about how these boats will actually go up in value over time. Regards Paul Bradbury

T

Tom

Not as bad

as it might seem. A boat is not a good investment however, Ken's comparison between a new boat for $200K and the same boat for sale 13 years old selling for half that price is not as bad as it might seem on the surface because the older boat did not cost $200K back in 1987. I decided to buy a new boat because the same boats five years old were not that much cheaper. I decided not to buy older than 5 years old because I just didn't want to face the maintenance of an older boat. What makes a boat a bad investment is how much money you continuing have to put into it with no increase in market value. Your boat is constantly lossing value and you are constantly throwing money into it. If you are looking for a good investment don't buy a boat buy mutual funds. If you love sailing buy the boat because you can't take it with you. When you start dreading the maintenance of the boat more than the enjoyment of the sailing sell it.

K

Ken Cobb

Further thoughts