Depth Sounder

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
On my boats, the only use for a depth sounder I've found:
  • probing depth by going very slowly, so you can do something if it ends up being too shallow;
  • figuring anchor scope;
  • picking a spot to anchor.
B&G has a forward-looking sonar, that is intriguing.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Great if you are deep blue water sailors
I would think even more important for blue water sailing. Maybe not so much of you leave and return to the same port every time but, I think most blue water sailing is done to get somewhere far away; more likely to sail into unfamiliar coastal waters.

Any suggestions as to the make of a depth sounder?
Sorry, I have no experience with electric depth sounders. I AM planning on installing one in my mariner 19 sometime in the future (thinking seriously about the fish finder direction, no joke. Can get a single unit by Garmin that includes a gps. https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/592107/pn/010-01873-00#specs). Always used a plumb line in the past.
- Will (Dragonfly)

May 23, 2016
Catalina 22 #12502 BSC
Any suggestions as to the make of a depth sounder?
Plenty options out there as you know, depth only, depth/plotter, depth/plotter/fishfinder...we went with a Lowrance Hook5 (depth/plotter/fish/GPS), no addnl software to buy (fresh & coastal included), mounted on bulkhead, very nice to have it for navigating where we sail as depths are shallow, good visability in sunny cockpit, fairly eze install. Included transducer works fine in v-berth thru plumbers putty (although vendor suggested I buy an addnl one made for that specific application-no need).

Biggest consideration IMO is not simply which model to buy but where/how to mount it...suggest you shop around, get demo's at your West Marine or local chandlery...and give plenty thought to drilling holes in your boat!

Oct 25, 2011
Island Packet IP31 Lake St. Louis, Montreal