Deck Hardware Bedding

Dec 11, 2015
Hunter 25 Plymouth
Dear Fellow Sailors,

Ive been working on boato for 50 years so I fully understand to seal deck hardware properly, I need first to remove it and then re-bed it. I’ve recently opened a brewery and taproom so my time is limited and this extensive work is not in my cards. SO, looking for the next best thing in the meantime until I can do the proper work. Is there any product that is liquid which I can drip or pour into the seams of my deck hardware and then seal with an average sealant?

Your constructive advice appreciated!

Thanks, Mark

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Sealing hardware from the outside never works for long. Two products that work least poorly are Captain Tolley's Crack Cure and Boat Life's Liquid Polysulfide. As you are aware this approach is merely kicking the (craft brew) can down the road.

Good Luck on your new adventure. :beer:

• Wow
Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
Good morning, Mark. Please clarify what you mean by deck hardware seams. If you have hardware that needs to be re-bed, I would first remove it, clean up both surfaces and replace using 3M-4200 sealant.

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago
I've put butyl around a leaking fitting from the outside as a temporary measure.

...Wait a second, that was two years ago and it's still there holding strong and collecting dirt. Removing old butyl is a pain as it gains holding power and using solvents to clean it up makes even more of a mess

Dec 11, 2015
Hunter 25 Plymouth
Sealing hardware from the outside never works for long. Two products that work least poorly are Captain Tolley's Crack Cure and Boat Life's Liquid Polysulfide. As you are aware this approach is merely kicking the (craft brew) can down the road.

Good Luck on your new adventure. :beer:
Like the pun, thx!

Dec 11, 2015
Hunter 25 Plymouth