cunningham vs. downhaul

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Barry Lenoble

Hello, I'm new to sailing so go easy on me! I have been sailing my Catalina 22 since July. I want to become more proficient at sailing, so I have been reading books and experimenting on my boat. The current book I am reading, "Sail power : the complete guide to sails and sail handeling" by Wallace Ross with Carl Chapman describes how you tension the luff of main with either a cunningham or the downhaul. The book does not state (or I missed) why you would one or the other. Any ideas / comments / hints? I have a downhaul on the boom, and there is a hole near the tack of the mainsail that I just learned is for the cunningham. I don't have any lines run to the hole, but I could probably rig one up if it would help. I have a traveler, downhaul, outhaul, and adjustable jib blocks. Now I just need to learn how/when/why to use them! Thanks, Barry Lenoble lenoble@optonline.net

J

Jim Wolfgram

One thought.

Here's my thinking, but I'm sure Don G. will weigh in with the authoritative answer. FYI - Pick up his book, I've got it's terrific and geared towards people like yourself. I think that the downhaul is applicable on a boat where the boom is attached to the mast on a slide. My old ericson 29 had that arrangment. You do the intitial hoist, then tension with the downhaul, e.g., pull the boom down on the track. The cunning ham is for a situation where you have the boom mounted at a fixed point. The current situation on my Cat 320. I use the cunningham to tension the luff and move the draft forward. hope this helps, and do pick up Don's book, a good deal and a quick read.

C

Chris Burti

Thought and a half