Cradle: transport 4000nm? Sell, buy/build new? Sail 365/yr and stay off the hard?

Feb 12, 2024
grampian 34 santa xruz
My boat has a custom-made cradle, but her new home port is several thousand miles away. I’m having trouble finding information and pricing about the options. My guess is that it would cost about as much to ship the cradle by slow ship, as it would to just take measurements and have a new one built. But I thought I’d ask here. I’ve never used a cradle before. It’s entirely possible I won’t need one and could just use jackstands on the rare occasion she needs a dry dock. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
My daughter shipped her car from SC to CA
For $400. seems you should be able to flat bed a cradle for under $1000

Last edited:
Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Where will you store the cradle when the boat isn't in it? That could be the determining factor. The yard you choose may not want or have room to store it. Or they may charge you to store it.

A well made cradle is safer than jack stands, however, if you can leave the boat in the water for years rather than months it might make sense to sell the cradle and just use jack stands.

If you do abandon or sell the cradle get the dimensions, maybe get someone to make a good drawing of the cradle. Then if you need to make one you have the plans. A good welder can build a cradle pretty quickly.

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
My yard doesn’t allow cradles to be left at the marina over the summer…so even though my boat came with a cradle, I never took it with the boat.

Marina provides jack stands for winter storage on the hard, so that is how Tally Ho stays upright all winter.

IMG_2957.jpeg

Greg

PaulK

Dec 1, 2009
Sabre 402 Southport, CT