Considering a Purchase, Opinions/Things to Consider?

Aug 12, 2020
Pearson 35 MA
Hi all,

My wife and I are continuing our search for our first sailboat, and are lining up a second viewing / test sail of a 1974 Pearson 35. She's listed here: 1974 Pearson 35 Cruising Sailboat - 2nd PRICE DROP - boats - by...

We noticed some issues with the brightwork, much of which looks rotted, as if it will need to be completely replaced:

IMG_4609.jpeg

IMG_4611.jpeg

IMG_4646.jpeg

IMG_4610.jpeg

IMG_4613.jpeg

IMG_4623.jpeg

The rigging, lifelines, and sails are all a bit long in the tooth, and she doesn't have a dodger, only a bimini. Otherwise, she appears to be in comparatively good shape.

Otherwise, I see no major issues as of our first review. That said: I'm new to this. :)

Is there anything specific we should be considering/looking at here? The current owner is an EE, and the wiring looks to be very well done; we'd be looking at some systems upgrades over time, but hope to negotiate the price down to around $10k. There is a survey from 2018, albeit one the seller provided, with no issues listed.

Last edited:
Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
Sounds like you are focusing on cosmetics - DON'T! The stuff which costs a lot isn't cosmetic but rather keel/hull integrity, delamination issues, hull integrity, rudder and rudder shaft integrity, mast step, rigging replacement. engine and transmission wear, hull/deck joint, etc....too many bigger issues to list here.

We all bought our first boat once and at that time, we all 'didn't know what we didn't know' - get a pre-purchase survey done by someone you hire. A 2 year old survey (likely done only for insurance purposes rather than condition) by the owner is meaningless.

Last edited:
May 27, 2004
Hunter 30_74-83 Ponce Inlet FL
And, while some of the teak looks bad, most of the toe rail might just need a good sanding