Cleaning the Scupper Drain Lines

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Stan Taylor

If I want to clean the Scupper Drain Lines leading from the cockpit while my '75 is in the water, can I disconnect the lines from the Tee fitting above the valve without worring about taking on water?. I tried to shut the valve, but the boat is so old, it is stuck open. Will I take on water if I disconnect the lines? If the valve is stuck open, do I need to wait until I haul it out of the water? BTW, the screens on the cockpit floor are either calked or cemente in. Is there a way to remove them, then reinstall em?

C

Chris Achtschin

water

Stan. I am new to this but I have had the same question. So far I have learned: 1) My drains were plugged right under the surface of the screen, once cleared all drained OK 2) When messing around the valve you mentioned, all I have seen has said: don't mess with the hoses while the boat is in the water! 3) The screens in my boat (1981), popped out with a screwdriver... not much effort. Catalina Direct has a scupper valve kit that drains through the transom... I have seriously thought about it. 4) your sticking valve should be proceeded with caution, twisting it too much could compromise the plumbing. I hope this helps, this web site has been so helpful to me, I hope I can help in return... Good luck!

M

Michael S.

Caution!