Checking shaft alignment

Sep 11, 2022
Catalina 34 mk 1.5 Rockland ME
I recently acquired a 1990 Catalina 34 at auction and am in the process of getting her ready for launch. I managed to get the engine running (M25XP), but there was a lot of vibration. I then discovered that one of the motor mount nuts (port aft) had worked itself loose. Tightening this nut helped with the shakes, but I'm guessing that the prop shaft is probably out of alignment.
IMG_1025.jpeg

Sounds like a fun adventure except...my coupling flange looks like :poop::
IMG_0692.jpeg

Universal recommends <0.001" per inch of coupling diameter (4"); even with some heavy wire brushing I can't imagine getting the outer surface that smooth. I'm not sure what to expect on the mated faces.

I've never done this before and I have and have questions/concerns:
- Is it worth trying to clean up the coupler, or just start over?
- Is it a foregone conclusion that I'll need a hack saw to get this coupling off the (bronze) shaft?
- For radial alignment, I didn't see an obvious mechanism to move the engine side to side. But it also seems as if the shaft just needs to be reasonably centered in the log. Am I missing something?
- Is there anything special I need to do to ensure the shaft is properly aligned with the cutlass bearing?
- When doing final check in the water, does the stuffing box support the shaft? Or do I leave the flange bolts most of the way in? Or...?

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
For radial alignment, I didn't see an obvious mechanism to move the engine side to side. But it also seems as if the shaft just needs to be reasonably centered in the log.
Radial ⇩ ⇨ ⇧ ⇦ should be reasonably close to the resting and undisturbed prop shaft. Angular alignment is the important measurement as stated by Universal :

Universal recommends <0.001" per inch of coupling diameter (4");