Catalina 350 Upgrade Electronics

Pauljg

Mar 19, 2022
Catalina 350 Long Beach
Hi
I am a new owner of a 2003 Catalina 350. The boat currently has a Raymarine RC 435 Chartplotter and the original binacle cluster.
The Chartplotter is a mess and the speed indicator is not working. Some web searching finds that there are no longer upgrades available for the Chartplotter from Raymarine.
I am thinking of purchasing a multi-function touch screen unit. I am fairly new to this and hoping to get some insight. I am in So Cal and plan on doing coastal cruising only.
1) Is any of the current wiring and GPS compatible with a new unit?
2) How complex is the install if I chose to do it myself?
Any insight and/or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Paul

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Are there any other devices networked to the chartplotter that it exchanges data with? It looks like the 435 is NMEA 0183. Any new multifunction devices are likely to be NMEA 2000. There are converters available if you have other 0183 devices that you still need connectivity to. The good news is most new MFD’s have integrated GPS antennas, so you don’t need to worry about connectivity with the old antenna.

Oct 3, 2008
Beneteau 393 Chesapeake Bay
As David said, your current devices are NMEA0183 which is analog while the new standard is NMEA2000 which is digital. A simple system would be a new chartplotter with the internal GPS receiver to be used with your current wind, boat speed, and depth transducers assuming they work. You'll need Raymarine's iTC-5 device which interconnects all of these transducers and your chartplotter via a NMEA2000 cable. Raymarine calls their version STng, and you'll need to stick with their connectors, not the generic ones.