Catalina 27 - Keel bolt leak?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 1, 2011
Catalina 27 Pueblo, CO
I'm a novice sailor in the process of purchasing a 1985 Catalina 27 STD with inboard Univ M18. There is a seven year old survey although it's mostly irrelevent now. The boat has been on the hard for 18 months and has a few obvious conditions which I can identify and one that I could use some of this sites experience in evaluating.

The 'Catalina Smile' has been repaired at some point in the past and the coating (VC17) is in good condition. I noticed dried streakes originating from three point in this repaired seam that run down the keel. The substance matches residue present in the bilge; dark flakey, maybe oil, fuel, etc. The exposed keel bolts have some deterioration but appear servicable with a bit of cleaning.

My concern is that if something came out on the hard from gravity, it's very likely the go the other way when back in the water. I would assume a path exists where the bolts travel up thru the hull into the bilge.

I have a call in to Catalina. I've also searched thru the archives here and still have the following questions:

Although it's impossible to know exactly the conditions between the keel and hull, is there a way for me to quantify, at least generally, the cost range to repair if done by a yard (i.e. we talking $1,500 or $5,000)? The local yard has not done this work and only responded with their hourly rate.

Would this scare an experienced boat owner away?

Thanks in advance for offering your thoughts!

Pete

Sep 25, 2008
Alden 50 Sarasota, Florida
The cost could be minimal or could exceed the value of the boat depending on the severity of the bolt corrosion. Rather than guess which is all you (or a yard) can do, with so many other boats around for sale, the question becomes why consider this one?